Late night/early morning

I can’t believe how productive I was today- even though I feel like I’m coming down with a cold. I’m trying hard to wrap up everything in DC before I head to NC in *gasp* 10 days.

My friends and I are having a swap party tomorrow- we’re bringing everything we want to get rid of and exchanging it for things we want. The key rule is that the person who brings the most gets the first pick of the round, the person with the second most gets second pick, etc. It felt SO good to clean out my closet, bookshelf, jewelry box, etc and I’m sure it will equally as nice to get lots of new stuff without spending a dime. Anddd we’re donating anything left over to charity, so it’s definitely a win-win-win idea.

Any other fun swap party rules? Let me know before tomorrow!

The NFTE Dare to Dream Gala that I attended last night was phenomenal- one of the best run galas I’ve seen. From an operational perspective, things seemed to go off without a hitch. NFTE incorporated a lot of fun, innovative ideas to make the event particularly engaging. They brought their youth entrepreneurs on stage to speak about their business ventures, and has a student showcase where the young entrepreneurs sold their products. I find that a lot of organizations fail to connect their gala attendees with the beneficiaries of their work, but NFTE did a fantastic job. Michael Chasen, the co-founder of Blackboard, spoke about his experience as an entrepreneur. I think he gave the students a great story that they could connect with and aspire to.My favorite part of the evening was hearing Chris Gardner speak. He’s the man who the movie The Pursuit of Happyness is based on. He was charismatic and engaging- his opening comment was “You guys know Will Smith isn’t coming, right?” But my favorite comment was when he said “I still don’t understand why Hollywood spent $70 million to do what I did every day for free.”

All in all, I think it was a well-planned and well-executed event! Congrats to all of NFTE, especially my fantastic mentor Julie 🙂

Leave a Reply

