Morning rituals

Some mornings I go for a run– let me tell you, it’s so much easier getting out of bed knowing that I have warm fleece running pants to slip in to and fun songs on my iPod.

I usually make breakfast at home- simple things like hard boiled eggs, cheese bread, applesauce, fake meat sausage, and/or fresh baked goods (like zucchini-carrot muffins!), or more complex things like breakfast sandwiches, frittatas, eggs benedict, and breakfast burritos.

My newest morning ritual is to put on music– specifically “Walking on Sunshine” by Aly and AJ. Cheesy? Yes. Inspiring? Definitely!

But come hell or high water, I will to Starbucks for my morning coffee (these days, it’s Pumpkin Spice Coffee- healthier and cheaper than a Pumpkin Spice Lattee!). Some people call this an addiction- I prefer “positive morning ritual.” We all need little treats, and Starbucks is mine. I performed a mini opportunity cost analysis (thank you, econ!) and having coffee 7 days week is about the same cost as a nice-ish meal out. I hereby choose to forgo the meal out and enjoy my little bit of heaven in a cup every morning. That’s all 🙂

Leave a Reply

