spicy sweet potato fries

I’m so excited about my sweet potato fries that I’m writing this blog post as I enjoy them.

I’m generally not a huge sweet potato fan, but I picked up a bag at Trader Joe’s on a whim the other day. Let’s be honest, I’m a sucker for anything fall-related, so I should have seen it coming.

I roughly followed this recipe from Country Living, but mostly just improvised (as usual). I picked a spicy /sweet recipe because I’ve been experimenting with opposite combinations lately (on a related note: check out Starbucks’ Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate. Yum!).

I cut my sweet potato into fries (and by fries, I mean awkward lumps) and sprinkled with salt, cumin, cayenne, black pepper, oregano, and some chopped onion for flavor. Then I drizzled a tiny bit of vegetable oil over the fries.

I baked them at 400 degrees for approximately 23.76 minutes and it made them the perfect texture- crunchy on the outside, soft in the inside.

I dipped mine in ketchup- a staple for fries- but maybe next time I’ll experiment with a fun dipping sauce like spicy sour cream or Asian dipping sauce.

Do you have other suggestions for sweet potato fries or just other sweet potato dishes?

4 thoughts on “spicy sweet potato fries

  1. Pingback: lunchbox meal: healthy chicken masala « Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: a week of “cupboard meals” | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

