eggplant balls…er, dip

I wrote on a friend’s Facebook wall saying that I bought my first eggplant ever. A mutual friend commented, suggesting that I try a recipe for eggplant balls. Because I only had half an eggplant left, I had to cut the other ingredients but unfortunately (or fortunately!) didn’t have the correct proportions, so my balls didn’t stick together [sorry for that awkward sentence haha]. Sooo, I did some quick thinking and churned out eggplant dip instead! It went over SO well with my friends!

Photo credit: veggienumnum.com

My amended recipe is below:

  • 3 large eggplant
  • olive oil
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1 red chilli, finely diced [I used my new sweet long red peppers]
  • 1 – 1 ½ cups fresh bread crumbs [I used sourdough]
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup grated parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 350°F and lightly oil one large baking sheet.

Slice the eggplant [I left the peel on] into 1/4 inch thick disks; evenly space the sliced eggplant on the oven trays. Sprinkle with a little salt and pepper and lightly drizzle with olive oil.

Bake in a moderate oven for 35-40mins or until golden and soft; remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly.

Chop the cooked eggplant finely.

In a large bowl mix the finely diced onion, garlic, chilli, 1 cup of the bread crumbs, oregano; combine well. Add the whisked egg, parmesan cheese and eggplant; season with salt and pepper as needed.

In a large skillet, heat olive oil. Saute mixture over low until onions are softened.

Use an immersion blender to blend the mixture into a slightly chunky dip.

Serve with pita chips, carrots, or bread…or eat plain!

2 thoughts on “eggplant balls…er, dip

  1. Pingback: recipe: eggplant moussaka in the crockpot « Cristina's Life

  2. Pingback: diggin’ through the archives, part iii « Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

