tex-mex chicken & antsiness

Recipe

I was looking for a recipe to use up the chicken drumsticks that were in my fridge. My sister forwarded me a recipe from her friend’s blog, BlissfulMindWellness, so I decided to adapt it and make it in my slow-cooker.

Tex-Mex Chicken

  • 5 drumsticks- $1.80
  • 1 can of corn- $1.00
  • 1 can of black beans- $1.09
  • 1/2 onion- $.74
  • 1 orange pepper- $1.39
  • 1/2 yellow pepper- $.70
  • 1 can of cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup- $1.69
  • homemade fajita seasoning [minus cornstarch]- approx $1.00

Combine all ingredients in Crockpot and heat on low for 6-9 hours.

Total: $9.41

$9.41 would be about the cost of a to-go lunch at a local restaurant like Nando Peri Peri.

But this recipe yields about 5 servings, so each serving only costs $1.70! That’s $1.70 for a delicious meal full of vegetables, protein, & seasoning. Pour it over a tortilla or rice and you have an even better meal- for only about $.50 more.

Antsiness

I feel antsy this week/weekend for a few reasons. I’m still adapting to my new job. I’m exhausted at the end of the day and have been going to bed around 9pm. I feel like I’m getting sick. My friends are all out of town or busy. I have so many things I’ve been neglecting to do. I feel frustrated when I feel like I’m not living up senior year. I haven’t been able to work out because of my hurt tailbone.

So my plan to combat all this: Know I’ll be adapted to my new job soon- I’m only in the second week. Go to bed early if I need to. Drink less coffee [free coffee has been readily available to me- not good haha]. Appreciate my free time [recognize that I lament it when I don’t have any]. Reach out to other friends I don’t usually hang out with. Get slowly back into working out. Do fun things that I enjoy- browsing books at the library, plan a fun trip, read, watch a quality movie, etc. Slowly tackle my to do list.

Tip of the Week

Establish a fun tradition with friends. Freshman year my friends and I established two traditions, one which we still do as seniors. We call it “Destress Dinner.” We get together on Sunday night and either order in from Mei-Wah [Chinese] or throw together the contents of everyone’s fridge and make a stir fry. We then sit in a circle; first, everyone shares one thing they’re stressed about. Then, everyone shares something they are excited about for the week. We’ve found it helps us go into the week with a healthy outlook. And from experience, I recommend keeping the group small because having too many people takes away the intimate feeling.

Other ideas:

  • Form a “Sunday brunch club”
  • Rotate hosting a Friday night potluck
  • Coordinate a Saturday morning coffee date
  • Visit Eastern Market every Saturday or Sunday
  • Form A food co-op (a friend of mine does this. Every Friday, he and his friends meet to exchange food. Each person brings 4 or 5 containers of a recipe they’ve made and walks away with 1 dish from each friend]
  • Visit a different museum each week


Leave a Reply

