cure the winter blues

Feeling down? I’ve been sick and feeling irritable lately, so I found a helpful article from Discovery Health on beating the winter blues. Here are my favorites from the list of 27 Home Remedies for Seasonal Affective Disorder:

  • Soak up the morning light. Get as much natural light as possible between 6:00 A.M. and 8:00 A.M. Engage in regular aerobic exercise. The perfect solution to kill two birds with one stone- go for a morning run outside!
  • Let the sun shine in- keep your curtains raised!
  • Vacation in a warm, sunny place- this works out for me considering my upcoming trips to Israel and Florida!
  • Eat good foods, including the following:
    • Bouillon- drink some hot bouillon or broth to warm you up and fill you up
    • Herbal teas- opt for herbal; chamomile and peppermint are my favorite!
    • Legumes- apparently these help you “maintain an even serotonin level throughout the day and night.” Some good options are lentil butternut squash soup or black bean soup

My other go-to tips:

  • Read a good book- I just picked up Jurassic Park!
  • Buy fresh flowers- Trader Joes stocks cheap and beautiful flowers all year. I love peonies and hydrangeas
  • Plan fun friend dates- try a winter walk with peppermint coffees or going to a new restaurant. I have a dinner date at the new Bayou DC this week!
  • Pick up a fun new hobby- my new photography class forces me to get out and see the beauty in winter
  • Get friends together for a fun outdoor activity- snowball fight, volleyball game, tag?
  • Blog! As I’ve mentioned, blogging makes me see positivity in everyday life because I know I’m “accountable” to my blog readers


3 thoughts on “cure the winter blues

  1. Pingback: a retrospect: top + favorite posts from my blog « Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: blogging boundaries « Scintillating Simplicity

  3. Pingback: diggin’ through the archives, xxii « Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

