recipe: eggplant moussaka in the crockpot

If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know that my first eggplant purchase was a mere 46 days ago. I’m now hooked, so I picked up another one at Trader Joe’s the other day. Originally, I planned to make this Indian Eggplant recipe, but I came across this recipe for Eggplant Moussaka instead.

Despite the less-than-raving reviews, I decided to give it a try- partially because I’m obsessed with my Crockpot. And I loved it (maybe because I don’t know what “real” moussaka tastes like?)!! To my surprise, I especially liked the unique little pop from the cinnamon.

Ingredients

  • 1 large eggplant, peeled and sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 1 lb ground turkey (or ground beef)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 5 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste,
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 ounces feta cheese with garlic and herbs

Directions

Prep Time: 20 mins
Total Time: 1/2 day

  1. Place peeled and sliced eggplant on the bottom of the Crockpot
  2. Brown the ground meat in a large skillet until there is no pink remaining
  3. Add meat mixture to the crock pot on top of the eggplant
  4. Add the remaining ingredients- except the feta cheese- to the Crockpot
  5. Cook on low for 6-8 hours
  6. Sprinkle feta on each serving
4 thoughts on “recipe: eggplant moussaka in the crockpot

  1. Pingback: a retrospect: top + favorite posts from my blog « Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: diggin’ through the archives, part xxiii « Scintillating Simplicity

  3. Hey Cris, How big can of tomatoes. I used a 28 ounce. I have a 6.5 quart crock pot. Two big eggplants. In process of cooking this for dinner. Smells wonderful already. Thanks. Tell you how it tastes later.

Leave a Reply

