and speaking of unique pasta combinations…

As I lay in bed this morning eating breakfast and sipping mocha mint coffee, I skimmed several food blogs- my tradition that helps get me through geology later in the morning. I came across this slightly odd but supposedly delicious pasta recipe. What really caught my eye was the use of nutritional yeast.

photo credit: wikipedia.com

If you know me well, you’ve either been forced to try yeast or heard me ramble about how it was part of my dessert as a child…or both.

Seriously though- it was part of dessert. 1 part yeast, 1 part soy sauce. It took me many years to realize how incredibly strange that is! Blame it on the hippie parents and Waldorf school 🙂

Now that I’m slightly more normal (it’s all relative), I use it in more traditional ways.

  • Sprinkle it on popcorn
  • Throw in to tofu stir fry
  • Top pasta with soy sauce, parmesan cheese, and yeast

If you need more convincing, “it is a source of protein and vitamins, especially the B-complex vitamins and is a complete protein. It is also naturally low in fat and sodium” (Wikipedia.com).

In DC, you can get it in the bulk food section of Whole Foods. Enjoy 🙂

Fun fact: peruse is often misused as a synonym of to skim. It actually means to look over something carefully and thoroughly.

4 thoughts on “and speaking of unique pasta combinations…

  1. Pingback: diggin’ through the archives {for the last time} « Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: buffalo chicken crack dip | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

