Rainbow Shrimp Pasta

My fellow intern and I periodically exchange recipes as we’re going about our days at work. He mentioned one from Bethenny Frankel, self-proclaimed Natural Food Chef, founder of SkinnyGirl Margaritas, & the star of Bethenny Ever After, a Real Housewives of New York spin-off.

As an aside, I have to admit I love Bethenny. She’s crass, abrasive, and a little insane, but she’s also spunky, caring, and real. I love watching her shows- on the rare days that I have access to Bravo TV and free time- for the ridiculous situations and hilarious commentary.

But back to the recipe!

Photo credit

Healthy Rainbow Shrimp Pasta

  • 1 pound whole wheat linguini
  • 1 pound peeled, de veined shrimp (tail off)
  • 1/2 yellow pepper, julienned (thinly sliced)
  • 5 sundried tomatoes sliced (in oil)
  • 2 tablespoons jarred sundried tomato oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 cloves garlic thinly sliced
  • ¼ cup of your favorite reasonably priced white wine
  • 2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan
  • ¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper

Boil water and cook linguini. On med/low heat, sauté garlic in sundried tomato oil with the diced peppers. Once peppers are soft, add shrimp, sundried tomatoes, white wine, and linguini with some of the reserved pasta water (to bind and make creamy). Cook on med/high until shrimp are cooked.  Add fresh herbs, sprinkle crushed red pepper, Parmesan, and salt and pepper to taste.As usual, I made a few changes (some by choice, others by necessity):

  • I added half of a leek, chopped thinly, to the pan with the peppers. It added great texture and flavor
  • My jarred sun-dried tomatoes weren’t holding up so well, so I used fresh cherry tomatoes instead. I cut them in half and threw them in a few minutes after the diced peppers. I also used  olive oil instead of the sun-dried tomato oil
  • For some reason, I don’t like the taste of wine in cooking, so I cut out this ingredient
  • I had frozen parsley, so I put it in the pan at the same time as the tomatoes
  • I added a scoop of ricotta to the pan
  • I used less pasta and more vegetables 🙂

A-mazing! I would absolutely make this delicious, easy pasta dish again…for myself or for company. I’ll be taking the leftovers to work tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “Rainbow Shrimp Pasta

  1. Pingback: Leek & Tomato Frittata « Cristina's Life

  2. Pingback: recipe: stuffed peppers « Scintillating Simplicity

  3. Pingback: sun-dried tomato & feta chicken « Scintillating Simplicity

  4. Pingback: on the menu for the week « Scintillating Simplicity

  5. Pingback: diggin’ through the archives, part xix « Scintillating Simplicity

  6. Pingback: recap: a taste of georgetown | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

