new morning tradition

I’ve established a new morning tradition (does two days count as a “tradition”?!) that I love. I wake up, eat a small bowl of oatmeal (with flax!) and go on a run. As of today, I even have a new running buddy! As we got down by the Tidal Basin, it began to torrentially downpour, which spiced up our run a bit. I think I am actually more energized during “rain runs.”

Back to my new routine- when I get home, I reward myself with a healthy smoothie using my new mini-blender.

Yesterday’s smoothie, based on Monsters from Oh She Glows:

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • A dash of Mango OJ
  • A big splash of soy milk
  • A scoop of almond butter

Today’s smoothie:

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • A big splash of soy milk
  • A scoop of almond butter
  • 1/2 cup of refrigerated coconut macaroon coffee

Yum! An easy way to get protein, fruit…and caffeine 🙂

One thought on “new morning tradition

Leave a Reply

