my [failed] tempeh recipe

Being the adventurous eater I’m trying to be, I bought tempeh [fermented tofu] with my $25 gift card from LivingSocial’s deal with Arganica Farm Club. I tried a variation of this recipe from 101 Cookbooks and let me tell you, it left a bad taste in my mouth, both literally and figuratively.

I’m at a loss- was the tempeh bad? Do I just not like it? I’m willing to try again because tempeh is so cheap (about $2.00 for a whole package), so I hope the results will be better in the future. I learned that it is not meant to be eaten raw and that you should steam or simmer it in water or a flavored broth for about 20 minutes before using. I’ll be sure to incorporate this advice in my future tempeh-cooking endeavors!

P.S. Here is a great article from The Kitchn with five ways to prepare tempeh.

Any other advice on preparing tempeh well?

Leave a Reply

