corn quinoa black bean salad

I mentioned earlier this week that I was going to make this corn-rice salad from BHG. I just whipped  up my own version and let me tell you- woww. Might be the best salad I’ve ever had…and it’s perfect for summer. And I bet it would be great if you made it ahead of time too.

My version

In a bowl, combine cooked quinoa (cooled to room temperature), black beans, several pieces of chopped jalapenos, sliced cherry or grape tomatoes, slices of red onion and avocado, several planks of corn (or a handful of canned corn), and a dash each of sea salt, pepper, olive oil, and rice vinegar. Garnish with fresh parsley or cilantro. Serve at room temperature.

Confession: I put in about 10 dashes of rice vinegar and a dash or two of Crystal hot sauce! Yum.

Note: To cut planks, place an ear on its side on a cutting board. Holding the corn firmly with fingers away from the blade, cut off a side of the corn. Rotate and repeat until all sides are removed. Use a spatula to gently move planks to salad.

*I didn’t list measurements; get inspired and play it by ear (no pun intended…ear of corn? Get it?). Salads are very difficult to mess up!

beginnings of the salad

fiddling with aperture settings 🙂

working lunch- twitter, v8 juice, water, and salad!

5 thoughts on “corn quinoa black bean salad

  1. Pingback: on my menu for next week « Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: butternut squash stuffed with…everything « Scintillating Simplicity

  3. Pingback: top vegetarian recipes « Scintillating Simplicity

  4. Pingback: recap: around the world potluck | Scintillating Simplicity

  5. Pingback: Cinco, Derby, Q Shack |

Leave a Reply

