cristina discovers sunflower chokes

I mentioned the other day that I picked up something called sunflower chokes at Harris Teeter. What on earth, you may ask? Speaking of earth, these are also called earth apples, Jerusalem artichokes, sunchokes, sunroot, and topinambour (imagine ordering a topinambour in a restaurant!). And, yes, they are part of the sunflower family (I know I was wondering that).

The taste been described as a cross between a potato and an artichoke, which I think is definitely accurate. Sarah of Cucina  Bella says she and her husband agreed that the taste “bears a stunning likeness to Terra chips.” I’ve never had Terra chips but I can wager a bet that roasted sunchokes are a healthier alternative!

Sarah also inspired me with her super-simple roasted sunflower choke recipe.

1 lb sunchokes
A drizzle of olive oil
A dash of sea salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Rinse the sunchokes under cold water, scrubbing lightly to remove any dirt. Cut into quarters and place onto the baking sheet. Drizzle the sunchokes with olive oil and sprinkle generously with sea salt and pepper. Cook for 35-45 minutes, flipping once or twice.

So delicious, especially when dipped in ketchup. I would absolutely eat these again!

Leave a Reply

