seven day gluten-free challenge

I mentioned before that I think I may have a gluten intolerance, since apparently it runs in my family. I’ve decided to tackle a manageable seven day gluten-free challenge in hopes of discovering whether gluten is the problem.

For those of you who don’t know, gluten is “a protein composite found in foods processed from what and related species, including barley and rye.” It is found in the obvious sources,  like bread and pasta, but also in less obvious places, like soy sauce (so sad!), fake meat products (again, very sad, given my love of fake meat buffalo wings), and even in packaged lentils or sometimes chicken. It’s very easy to forget where gluten is hiding- even if it’s in plain sight. For example, I always forget that cous cous is a pasta, not a grain.

For my challenge, I’m not going to be too stringent. At the end of the week, I will almost certainly report back that I indulged in a bit of soy sauce 🙂 I may also have found an extraordinary gluten-free Bud Light substitute since my challenge will span the weekend!

I’m hoping that this challenge will have a positive effect on my eating habits since I will be more observant of what I put into my mouth. However, I’m not using this challenge as a restrictive low-carb diet in disguise, because I think it’s important to eat a balanced, fulfilling diet without constantly stressing about every bite.

Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “seven day gluten-free challenge

  1. Pingback: road bump #1 « Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: rice cakes: a gluten-free snacker’s dream « Scintillating Simplicity

  3. Pingback: My One Year Anniversary, Part I | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

