TAD- Day #3

Creative inspiration sent to me and shared with me: I’m so appreciative of all the socially, professionally, politically, intellectually plugged in individuals in my off-line and on-line life. On any given day, I can open my Twitter or email and find myself face-to-face with scintillating new facts, thoughts, and debates, shared by engaged individuals. These individuals and the content they generate encourage me to think creatively and stay up-to-date on current events. Today, for example, my tennis partner said me this interesting article, which is especially relevant in light of my Dear Starbucks post.

My stepdad: Having both parents live out of the country can sometimes lead to a feeling of parental deficiency. Words cannot express how appreciative I am to have my stepdad, who lives locally, in my life. He’s been there for me during financial hardships, emotional turmoil, birthday dinners, and ski trips. But what never ceases to amaze me is that he has literally no obligation to do any of this. This Brad Paisley song brings me to tears with the words “Lookin’ back all I can say, About all the things he did for me, Is I hope I’m at least half the dad, That he didn’t have to be.” Those lyrics really ring true for me. That song will definitely be played during my wedding during our father-daughter dance.

Babysitting: Nothing beats spending a day with kids to see life in a whole different- and usually simplified- way. Every Wednesday, I get to step out of the office and babysit two adorable blonde children. Seeing the smile on the girl’s face when she sees me behind the wheel, combined with the cheers of “Miss Cristina! Miss Cristina” is enough to make anyone feel special. And once the boy gets over the disappointment (and sometimes tears) of seeing me instead of his mom, he has fun too 🙂 It’s such a fun time to get back in touch with my child-like sense of wonder (haha not that it’s ever far away!). We eat ice cream, walk at the lake, feed the ducks, play with toys at Marbles, and watch Scooby Doo. And I’m constantly blown away by how perceptive kids are!

Leave a Reply

