my recent reads

Photo credit

Per Elisabeth’s request, I wanted to share some quick book reviews with you.

A Million Little Pieces: This is a very compelling and graphic “memoir” about a young man’s struggle with alcoholism and drug addiction. I put memoir in quotation marks because there was a huge controversy over whether he was actually truthful in his narrative. For more on the Oprah controversy, click here {but not until after you read the book, because it contains a huge spoiler}. I certainly wouldn’t call reading this book “fun” or “enjoyable” but it is incredibly intriguing and eye-opening.

Always Something There to Remind Me: This chick lit novel is a relatable story about your first love. If you’re looking for an easy read that pulls on your heartstrings, this is for you. I have to admit, I thought the end was a bit anti-climactic.

The Last Oracle: I picked up this James Collins novel because I was told it was similar to Michael Crichton. The book was intriguing at first but wore on so long that  I couldn’t finish it. Oops.

Autism’s False Prophets: Bad Science, Risky Medicine, & the Search for a Cure: My sister is currently reading this, but I may have to borrow it after. It’s a probing look into the individuals and organizations that contributed to a loss of credibility for the field of autism study.

When I pick up a book, I suddenly remember how much I love to curl up with a cup of tea or coffee and get completely absorbed. Nothing beats moments like these:

 Photo credit

Photo credit

One thought on “my recent reads

  1. Pingback: My One Year Anniversary, Part I | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

