ask and you shall receive

When it comes to getting what you want, there seems to be two different schools of thought:

And…


I am whole-heartedly in the “Ask and you shall receive” camp. Though I have no doubt I could come up with examples to the contrary if I was pressed, I find that most of my examples of success are direct results of proactively asking for something.

Somebody told me that people who ask for things are pushy and rude. Guy Whose Name I Can’t Remember- I disagree. I think people who ask for what they want (in a polite and respectful way, of course) are daring and deserving of positive outcomes.

I didn’t get an internship with The Washington Diplomat because I waited for them to approach me. When my sister wanted to volunteer with local non-profits, she didn’t wait for someone to start a volunteer group; she created Change the Triangle.

And I think this policy applies to everyday life as well. When I had a less-than-pleasant (that’s an understatement) experience with a vet, I asked for- and got- my money back. Let me tell you, they certainly weren’t sitting there waiting to deposit money into my bank account, but they did it because they knew it was the right thing.

If my order from Starbucks isn’t correct, I send it back. Not to be obnoxious, but because if I don’t vocalize my feelings, no one is waiting there to guess them.

Which leads me to a topic for another post- if you are willing to broadcast negative feedback, you should go out of your way to give positive feedback.

Do you have a good example of a time that you asked and received or had good things come to you because you waited?

2 thoughts on “ask and you shall receive

  1. Pingback: holiday pinspiration board « Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: public criticism: a do or a don’t? | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

