21 seasoning salute soup

Though I’m a big fan of mixing my own spices, I’m also a fan of efficient, simple cooking, so I was delighted when I came across Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute.

It’s an all-purpose spice medley that contains onion, black pepper, celery seed, cayenne pepper, parsley, basil, marjoram, bay leaf, oregano, thyme, savory, rosemary, cumin, mustard, coriander, garlic, carrot, orange peel, tomato granules, lemon juice powder, oil of  lemon, and citric acid.

Overwhelmed by that list? I was too, but trust me, the flavor isn’t overwhelming- the seasonings mesh perfectly and are light but flavorful.

Photo credit

After some careful consideration and a Google search, I decided to make a beef soup using only 21 Seasoning Salute for flavor. Was it flavorful enough? You betcha!

Saute chopped carrots and celery with olive oil in a large pot over medium. Toss in lean stew beef, diced potatoes, canned corn, canned diced tomatoes, and four cups of beef broth. Season with 21 Seasoning Salute until you get the flavor you want. Remember -you can always add more as you go! Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer until the meat is cooked and the potatoes are soft. 

So easy! This seasoning is also apparently fantastic on eggs, salads, pasta {gluten-free for me of course!}, you name it. I sprinkled some on top of my cream cheese-covered rice cake! Stephanie of Noshtopia {one of my new favorite blogs} described it as the “cross trainer of spices.” And Carrol from What I Crave said for her, it’s like the Frank’s Red Hot ad- “I put that [bleep] on everything.” Haha!

4 thoughts on “21 seasoning salute soup

  1. Pingback: search terms- the good, the bad, & the eggplant 2.0 « Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: 21 seasoning vegetable pasta « Scintillating Simplicity

  3. Pingback: recipe inspiration, chicken edition « Scintillating Simplicity

  4. Pingback: end of the week lunchbox meal | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

