let me cater to you

 {Photo credit}

You thought this post was going to be about a catering arm of GW Bites, didn’t you? That has happened but that’s not what this post is about!

I don’t address feminist issues often but I have once or twice– actually, just once. In the car this morning, Destiny’s Child’s Let Me Cater to You came on the radio. Allow me to share several of the lyrics:

Don’t know if I need to reassure you, my life would be purposeless without you…
Anything you want just let me cater to you…
I’m here to serve you…
I put my life in your hands…
I got your slippers, your dinner, your dessert and so much more

The independent woman in me gagged at little bit at these lyrics- really? Purposeless? But then all these counter-arguments popped into my head- if a guy said these things, he’d be sweet, right? And, as you may be well aware, I love cooking and have cooked a time or two for gentlemen in my life.

But I think Destiny’s children get in trouble with the following line:

All I want to do, is cater to you boy

That seemingly insignificant but really very important word: all.

Here’s an analogy that my sister’s friend shared with my sister: your life is a delicious chocolate {or insert favorite flavor} cake. It’s fulfilling, rewarding, and amazing and you’re perfectly content with just the moist {worst word ever} flavorful cake. Then someone generously offers you German chocolate cake icing or cream cheese icing (or a significant other). You love the new addition but you don’t just focus on the icing. The icing is there to enhance every single bite of the great cake. If the icing suddenly disappears, you can still thoroughly enjoy indulging in the cake.

In the immortal words of Kelis, my milkshake cake brings all the boys to the yard…but more importantly, it keeps me content when they’re not around.

Leave a Reply

