accidental pasta carbonara

{This is a pre-scheduled post; I am currently cruising to the Bahamas. According to my itinerary, I am currently experiencing a “Fun Day at Sea”}.

 {Photo credit}

I wanted to use up leftover produce before I left for my cruise {sorry, I’ll stop talking about it!}, so I raided my fridge and ended up with a carbonara-like pasta dish- sans cream, plus tons of vegetables!

Prepare pasta {gluten-free if you’d like} according to instructions. Reserve a bit of pasta water when you drain the pasta. In a separate pot, boil chopped cauliflower until tender. In a skillet, cook turkey bacon and set aside on a paper towel. Drizzle the skillet with olive oil {no need to clear after removing the bacon} and saute onions, garlic, sliced zucchini, and roasted peppers with sea salt, pepper, dried red chili peppers, garlic powder, and dried or fresh basil and parsley. Add cauliflower, pasta water, and pieces of the turkey bacon; toss until well mixed. Serve with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese on top. Enjoyyyy!

Inspiration for this recipe came from Tasty Healthy Easy Green {I love the rating system that Sally uses to grade each recipe}

Leave a Reply

