gluten-free key lime bar

After I became the proud owner of a big bag of key limes for $.75 from the Harris Teeter old aged produce shelf, I immediately performed my requisite Google search to find a suitable recipe. When I stumbled upon this imitation Key Lime Larabar recipe, I was a bit hesitant to try it because I haven’t been a huge fan of the Larabars I’ve tasted {Apple Pie & Cashew Cookie}. But on the plus side though, Larabars are gluten-free, so props to them for finding a niche in the bar market!

Back to the recipe. Oh my goooodness. It kind of tastes like a lemon tart. I kept sneaking bites of it from the fridge before it firmed up!

Photo credit

I have to admit that I ad-libbed with the measurements {as per usual} but I pasted an adapted recipe below for you!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cups cashews {I didn’t have any unfortunately}
  • 3/4 cups almonds
  • 1 1/2 cups soft dates, soaked and drained {I used Trader Joe’s Fancy Medjool dates}
  • zest of 1 lime {I used key limes}
  • juice of 2 limes {Again, key limes}
  • 3/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, optional {I didn’t use any}

Directions

Process cashews, almonds, and dates in food processor until finely ground and combined- I used my Magic Bullet. Add in remaining ingredients, except oil, and puree until it starts to stick together (when you pinch it it should stick together – if it doesn’t you may want to add the oil in). Press into a glass casserole pan or pour on a piece of tin foil and shape into a bar. Drizzle with extra lime juice or sprinkle with extra coconut if you’d like! Refrigerate for an hour or so to let flavors work together and to firm up. Cut and serve!

These bars are healthy and filled with fiber. I think they’ll be great bars before my morning work out or for a quick snack during the day. They can even be dessert since the key limes add tartness and the coconut adds natural sweetness.  I shared a nibble with my sister and she gave it the thumbs up.

P.S.  Upon further examination of the Larabar website, I discovered saw on the front page that they have a new flavor- Cappuccino! I’ll have to give it a go. I also want to test drive some other flavors like Coconut Cream Pie, Ginger Snap, and Carrot Cake.
P.P.S. Happy Leap Day!
Leave a Reply

