recipe inspiration, chicken edition

After purchasing a big package of chicken tenders from Trader Joe’s, I realized I wasn’t going to be able to finish all of it before it went bad. Inspiration struck: I placed the chicken tender in separate snack sized Ziploc bags and added a different seasoning or sauce to each bag :

  • 21 Seasoning Salute
  • Italian seasoning {basil + marjoram + oregano + rosemary + thyme} + garlic powder + salt + pepper + dried minced garlic
  • Buffalo sauce
  • Some random experimental combination of cumin + curry powder + things I can’t remember 🙂
Then I zipped up each bag and popped it in the freezer. When I was ready to use it, I just defrosted each piece overnight and prepared using this method {totally failproof}.

Photo credit

Next time I plan to try one of the recipes below:

Coriander Cumin Chicken {via YumSugar}

Ginger Curry Chicken with Lentils & Leeks {via BHG}

Greek-Style Chicken Skillet {via BHG}

Zesty Ginger Tomato Chicken {via BHG}

Or one of my tried-and-true chicken recipes:

Sun-Dried Tomato & Feta Chicken

Mashed Potato Casserole with Chicken

Healthy Chicken Masala

Tuscan Zucchini Pasta Casserole

P.S. When I searched my blog for “chicken,” a reference to the chicken dance popped up. Haha!

P.P.S. Lesson learned: throwing chicken tenders with salad dressing and chopped zucchini into a Ziploc and freezing it makes a pretty disgusting mushy mess! So freeze chicken separately from vegetables

Leave a Reply

