cristina chats…with meredith

For an explanation of my “Cristina Chats” series, click here!

The first person I want to introduce you to is Meredith Stokke of Food for Thought. I’ve known Meredith for a few years because she used to be my sister’s neighbor! She was also one of the first people I thought of for the blog group 🙂

Meredith is a therapist who works with teens, young adults, and families. She specializes in treating eating disorders, so body image is the primary topic covered on her blog.

Meredith is the happy runner in the red shorts!

Share an image that captures YOU.

I ran my first half-marathon this past summer in Chicago with one of my best friends, and her sister snapped this picture of us as we ran by her. When we both saw her in the crowd cheering, we both instinctively reacted the same way. I think this captures me well.

Share your six word memoir with me.

Once was lost; thankful I’m found.

Tell me a fun fact.

I was a ballerina growing up and danced on pointe.

Why do you blog?

I blog because I want to encourage and educate, but I also blog because I want to challenge people to think critically about beauty, self-esteem, weight, the media, dieting, etc. Plus, I love to write and blog because I enjoy it!

How did you come up with your blog title and content?

Honestly, I don’t remember how I came up with the title- but I was asked to start blogging by a former therapist boss about counseling related topics. I…really ended up loving it (and am still going strong almost 2 years after leaving that job!). Because I specialize in treating eating disorders and body image, I have a lot of conversations about the media, beauty ideals, self-esteem… I think this is something that a lot of people think about and wrestle with. My goal with my blog content is to challenge the way that people view the media, and encourage people to have healthy, grounded self-esteem. I also enjoy writing about other things sometimes too– anything positive and encouraging that might inspire people to have hope, or live a better, more full life.

If you could improve your blog in one way, what would you do?

I would love to post more frequently- my lack of posting, especially lately, has everything to do with how busy I am, rather than not having enough content to post. Between running my private practice, seeing clients, doing a few hours a week of work at William Peace University, volunteering, and keeping up with my social and personal life, it’s a lot! I’d also like to get back to interviewing people that inspire me!

What is the biggest lesson you’ve learned from blogging?

That small gestures can make a difference! I’ve always believed this, but blogging has really reinforced that for me. I always assume that my mom is the only one that reads my blog (hi Mom!) and so when I get emails from strangers who read my blog and share with me how a particular post has impacted them, it really touches me and reminds me that simple things can make a difference in another’s life. We all have the power to have a positive impact on others, no matter how great or small the gesture is!

What’s the greatest thing you’ve gotten out of blogging?

There have been so many great things! Connecting with people in the field that I respect is probably near the top of the list. I’ve had the opportunity to interview different people, and friendships have formed as a result.

What are your favorite posts on your blog? 

Hmm. I know this is cheating, but here are 3 that are special to me: Dispelling Eating Disorder Myths, a Girls on the Run re-cap, and a post on my experience at the Children’s Malnutrition Center in Guatemala.

If you could only read one blog for the rest of your life, which would it be {something other than mine even though that’s a natural first choice haha!}?

I can’t choose just one- I read so many! I love Amy Hutton’s blog Amstel Life (her story is amazing and every time I read her blog, I cry- true story). I also like a faith based blog that an old roommate of mine writes, called SheWorships.

What is your favorite part of the Triangle?

I might be partial because I live and work in North Raleigh, but I love North Hills. There are lots of great restaurants (Coquette, Mura, Midtown Grill, Vivace, Piola), great shopping (Gena Chandler, Lululemon, Monkee’s), and it’s not too far from downtown either! If I could pick another favorite, it would be Cameron Indoor Stadium at Duke in Durham- I love going to Duke basketball games.

What’s your favorite season? 
I love the summer. I went to graduate school in Arizona, and after living there for a few years, I crave blue skies and sunshine. I love being outside, doing summer-like activities, going to the beach. I also think summer just has a more casual, laidback feel to it. And I love that.

To read more from Meredith, visit her blog, Food for Thought!
2 thoughts on “cristina chats…with meredith

Leave a Reply

