sister entrepreneurship: the makery nc

Just a few months ago, I reconnected with the Nordgren family, who used to go to the Waldorf school with me back in first grade! I hadn’t seen any of them in many years, but I ran into Carl {the dad} at a downtown Raleigh networking event. He reconnected me with Krista Anne, who was in my class way back when. Krista mentioned that she and her sisters were starting a business and, just a few months later, it is blowing up! They were just featured on Fast Company Design, which demonstrates the potential of their idea!

According to their website, “Combining the ideas of online sales, buying local, and the renewed passion for handmade goods, we created The Makery as a new way to build community-supported commerce and support our friends, neighbors, and new favorite artists.  Here’s how it will work: Each week, members will receive curated deals on a selection of limited edition art, apparel, and homewares, all lovingly handmade by one of that week’s featured local artists.When you purchase an item from The Makery, you will pay less than you would at a craft fair or on an artist’s Etsy site, and will also be exposed to new artists and pieces that have been carefully chosen as Makery Picks.To the artists, The Makery brings a large member base of potential customers, and also provides additional exposure through features on our blog and special, one-of-a-kind opportunities for VIP members.”

I am obviously incredibly biased since this is a former classmate + I love NC + I love sister entrepreneurship + I love buying local, but it’s seriously such a cool idea!

Follow them on Twitter and check out their website! To make a pledge on Kickstarter by this Saturday, click here!

P.S. My favorite part of the video: when Krista Anne says “Sarah is the writer, Brita is the artist, and I am…the funny one.” Haha!

One thought on “sister entrepreneurship: the makery nc

Leave a Reply

