split pizza: sweet potato sauce + chicken meatballs

When I stumbled across “Rustic Pizza with Sweet Potato Sauce” on Caroline’s blog, I was intrigued. I generally only like sweet potatoes in savory dishes, so this was right up my alley.

And what’s better than testing a new kind of pizza? Making it on gluten-free cauliflower crust!

I love to maximize variety when I cook, so I often end up making split pizzas- half with one set of ingredients, the other half with a completely different set of flavors! Admittedly, splitting the flavors makes the process slightly more labor and time-intensive, but I end up with meals for a few days- definitely worth it.

This time, I opted for half Sweet Potato Pizza, half a more traditional mix based around Al Fresco chicken meatballs. Their products {and Twitter strategy!} continue to impress me!

Sweet Potato Pizza

  • Kale
  • Turkey Bacon
  • Mashed sweet potato
  • Caramelized onions
  • Mozzarella slices

Tomato & Basil Chicken Sausage Pizza

  • Sliced Al Fresco Tomato & Basil Chicken Meatballs
  • Tomato paste
  • Sun-dried tomatoes
  • Mozzarella slices

Prepare a cauliflower pizza crust according to these directions.

Bake a sweet potato (skin on) at 400 for 55-60 minutes. In a skillet, caramelize about half an onion. In another skillet, cook two or three strips of turkey bacon. Let cool then break into small pieces. In the same skillet (no need to wash!), saute washed, destemmed, and chopped kale until crispy and bright green. When the sweet potato is soft, peel off skin (it should fall off easily) and mash with a fork until smooth. Layer all ingredients on half of the pizza; top with slices of mozzarella cheese.

{Ooooh, we’re halfway there!}

Spread the other half of the crust with tomato paste. Top with chicken meatballs, slices of mozzarella, and sun-dried tomato.

Bake at 450 for about 15 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Both sides are have such delicious combinations of flavors, but I loved the uniqueness of the sweet potato, kale, cheese, and bacon combo. Thanks for the inspiration, Caroline!

Good thing my roommate hasn’t moved in yet- look what a mess I made:

Tip: minimize dishwashing by reusing skillets. They’ll still have some of the original oil and flavor of the first ingredient! I promise, it’s not dirty or gross 🙂

P.S. I didn’t realize how cheap kale is! I bought a big handful for $.14 at Harris Teeter.

P.P.S. For other delicious pizza combos, go here and here!

3 thoughts on “split pizza: sweet potato sauce + chicken meatballs

  1. Glad you like the sweet potato pizza – it sounds weird but it’s surprisingly good! I really want to try a cauliflower crust some time, though when it comes to crust I’m usually lazy and buy the pre-made balls of dough :/

    • I was describing the sweet potato combo to someone and realized how odd it sounded haha. So good though!

      And the cauliflower crust is amazingg. Maybe try it with a simple pizza first so it’s less time-consuming 🙂

  2. Pingback: tomato basil meatball soup | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

