cristina chats with…sara!

My friend {not my sister!} Sara of Watermelon Roses has been dominating my blog lately. She designed my new blog header, attended the Around the World blogger potluck with me, and really brightened up my day awhile back. As I mentioned in my Ray of Sunshine post, Sara and I met through Twitter and have been blog friends ever since. When I made over an ugly side table, I immediately texted her because I knew she’d love my DIY skills 🙂

I was excited when she agreed to be part of my Cristina Chats blogger interview series- I knew I would learn a thing or two about her 🙂

This picture is from my trip to Italy with my parents after college graduation. I think it shows “me” inside and out – I am quick to laugh, enthusiastic, but also a bit sarcastic (look carefully, you’ll see it). Also despite chopping all that hair off, I still think of myself as the girl with the insane wild and curly hair. It’s part of what makes me, me. Also I love good food and wine, obviously 🙂

  • Share your 6 word memoir with me. Make stuff and talk about it.
  • Tell me a fun fact. I was almost named Serafina for a great-grandmother, and often wish my mom had taken the more ethnic route. “Sara” or “Sarah” are 2 of the 100 most popular girl names of all time (or at least recent decades).
  • Why do you blog?  I blog because I love to write and have no “professional” outlet in which to do so. It started out more personal (Sara Sassy Pants for some oldies) and turned into an outlet for my hobbies and passions and potential future profession(s). Also I’m a share-er, despite being an only child. Sometimes I overshare, and I’m not sorry. 
  • How did you come up with your blog title and content? I wanted a title that was intriguing, interestingly vague, and fun. Also I wanted it to be easy to remember and spell for practical reasons. I still struggle with NOT renaming and rebranding every time I get a new idea. The main inspiration of my blog is my grandmother, whom I called Miss Rose – she was a special lady and was always doing something creative, both in life and with her sewing machine.
  • If you could improve your blog in one way, what would you do? Quit my day job and spend a solid month adding all the features and pages I want for it. So many ideas, so little time! 
  • What is the biggest lesson you’ve learned from blogging? Not everyone agrees with me! I like for people to like me (who doesn’t?) and struggled early on with writing things that would please everyone (and I mean, EVERYONE) so I would have TONS of fans. I have since come to my senses and really try to stick to my own unique voice.
  • What is the best thing you’ve gotten out of your blog {friend, product, etc}? Awesome new friends and connections, especially since moving to Raleigh. I met YOU {Cristina} indirectly because of my blog, so that’s pretty cool 🙂 I have been so inspired by the people (and blogs) that I never would have found if it weren’t for my blog.
  • What’s your favorite post so far? What is your most popular? My favorite post – or series of posts, are the ones I did on my chair reupholstery {Chair Upholstery Prep, Yummy Dressing, It’s All Legs & Bums, and Ottoman, Hookah, & Coffee Maker. I am most proud of that project so far and love how the chair turned out, though I expect to say the same thing for the next chair on my list to reupholster. My most popular so far seems to be the post I did on painting my kitchen and struggling with my color choice {Highlighters in the Kitchen}.
  • Describe your blog using 6 tags/hashtags. #do-it-yourself, #ThrifyHomeImprovement, #design, #Raleigh, #create #thriftydesign
  • If you could only read one blog for the rest of your life, which would it be {something other than mine even though that’s a natural first choice haha!}? Without question Grace Bonney’s Design Sponge. Ever since finding it, I read every post without fail. She is an inspiration for young women wanting to be creative entrepreneurs, and also is a great gateway into the home and etc. design world. I always find cute things to covet and awesome ideas for home and life on her blog. It is my dream to be featured on her blog, plus she’s from VA like me (and I totally geeked out when I met her at a book signing! 🙂 Editor’s note: Sara is also obsessed with Young House Love and mentions it every time I see her}.
  • What is your favorite part of the Triangle? I’m in love with pretty much all of downtown Raleigh. SPECIAL favorites might be Glenwood South area (because I live there and love it), Warehouse District (tons of new awesome things and two of my fav Raleigh eateries), and Capitol District /Fayetteville St. area. 
  • If you could spend the day anywhere in the Triangle, where would it be? I would hop from Raleigh Times to Morning Times to Helios to Busy Bee to the Humble Pie patio to Capitol Lawn to Sitti to Hibernian and then hit a concert at the Raleigh Amphitheater. 
  • What’s one job that you secretly {or not-so-secretly} want?  I secretly want to do graphic design and interior design. I can’t decide and thus started a blog where I am attempting to foster and grow both skills.
  • What is your favorite word and why? TRIFE. Because it’s not actually a word. In college, one of my roommates said it all the time and I adopted it for my own – it’s fun to say, and almost anything can be designated as “trife”. As in, “all this pollen is trife!” or “it’s trife that I copied someone else and say this word all the time.” We have since lost touch but I still use it…it reminds me of good times in college and lots of laughs with my girlfriends. Also the Italian city of “Civitavecchia” is insanely fun to say: “chee-vee-tah-VECK-eeh-ah” …it means something similar to “really old city”.
  • What is your favorite recipe to make {provide a link if you’d like}? Lucky Charms with 1% milk…luckycharms.com. I don’t cook very often.
  • What’s your favorite season? Summer, without a doubt, and then early fall. Because I love warm weather, wearing dresses and wedges, summer concerts outside, the beach, the pool, and football.
One thought on “cristina chats with…sara!

Leave a Reply

