week recap & a solo saturday

This Week

  • Doubles tennis
  • Sushi from Sushi Tsune at Lake Johnson
  • Restaurant Week at Chamas in Durham {I got too full and  I didn’t like the meat as much as I thought I would}
  • Boylan Bridge Brewpub with friends
  • Ladies luncheon with the Downtown Raleigh Alliance
  • First kickball game {only made it to the bar afterward because I have a monthly meeting that conflicts! But my team won!}
  • Lady Antebellum & Darius Rucker concert

Solo Saturday

I was busy every night this week with friends, so I was fine spending this morning alone. Being alone is only lonely for me if I want or need to be with people; otherwise, it’s calming and energizing.

I started off the day by packing a gluten-free sandwich, grabbing a Starbucks Iced Coffee, and hitting a toning class at the gym. It was only 30 minutes, but I definitely felt all the exercises. I’m sure I’ll be sore tomorrow! Elisabeth was in the class too!

Then I hit up Under the Sea, a 3D IMAX documentary I’ve been trying to catch- or as I like to say, “I’ve been ‘diving’ to ‘sea’ it.” Horrible puns, I know! I asked the guy at the front desk not to judge me for coming to a movie alone! Haha. Anyway, the movie did not live up to my expectations- Jim Carrey was the narrator, so it started off on the wrong foot because he irritates me! Then I had to close my eyes during the long section on sea snakes and I was super jumpy when they kept showing sea animals snapping up their prey. 3D movies can be very jarring…so I left. The five-year-old kids in there were apparently more brave than me 🙂

Since I was already downtown, I decided to jump over to the farmers’ market because it was Crawfish Day {remember seeing that on my new calendar?}. I grabbed a pound of live crawfish and then entered the main section. I ended up with a ton of stuff for under $10: several peaches; a tomato; a Pattypan squash {had never heard of it before; it’s also called a sunburst squash}; an Oriental squash; day-old zucchini for $.50 per pound; a bundle of sorrel; a head of cabbage; and a head of elephant garlic. I realized I forgot to pay for the garlic, so I walked back to the booth and the guy ended up upgrading me from a big $3 head of garlic to a ginormous $5 head for my honesty!

I always forget how much I love the experience of going to farmers’ markets- without sounding too hippie and locavore-esque, it’s really neat to form a bond with the person who is producing your food.

From left: elephant garlic; got all that squash & zucchini for $.70; pretty flowers I didn’t buy; and Pattypan and Oriental squashes

As I wrote this blog post, my live crawfish were moving around on my dining room table- such a disturbing noise! I had to put them into the fridge immediately 🙂

Off to Richmond now for Sara D‘s birthday yard party/sleepover/brunch 🙂

P.S. You can easily see my Instagram pictures over at Instagrid!

4 thoughts on “week recap & a solo saturday

  1. Pingback: an out-of-town birthday shindig | Scintillating Simplicity

  2. Pingback: on the menu for the week | Scintillating Simplicity

  3. Pingback: kim chi cabbage soup | Scintillating Simplicity

  4. Pingback: My One Year Anniversary, Part II | Scintillating Simplicity

Leave a Reply

